Go Down

Topic: Help controlling 3 LEDs based on analog output (Read 420 times) previous topic - next topic

mcart2jm

Dec 10, 2019, 07:35 pm Last Edit: Dec 10, 2019, 07:43 pm by mcart2jm
Hello,

I'm very new to using and programming Arduinos and am tasked with using one for a class project. My goal is to control three LEDs based on the output of an eTape Liquid Level Sensor (https://www.adafruit.com/product/2656).

I have a sketch that's outputing to the serial monitor and the values are adjusting as expected for variable water levels, but I'm having trouble using the analog read to control the LEDs. Below is my current sketch:

Code: [Select]

// the value of the 'other' resistor
#define SERIESRESISTOR 270   

// What pin to connect the sensor to
#define SENSORPIN A0

const int analogPin = A0;     // pin that the sensor is attached to
const int ledPinG = 13;       // pin that the LED is attached to
//const int ledPinY = 12;
//const int ledPinR = 11;
const int threshold = 962;   // threshold level that's in the range of the analog input

void setup(void) {
  // initialize the LED pin as an output:
  pinMode(ledPinG, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ledPinY, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ledPinR, OUTPUT);
  // initialize serial communications:
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(void) {
 float reading;

reading = analogRead(SENSORPIN);

// convert the value to resistance
  reading = (1023 / reading)  - 1;
  reading = SERIESRESISTOR / reading;
  Serial.print("Sensor resistance ");
  Serial.println(reading);

delay(1000);
}

void loop() {
  // read the value of the potentiometer:
  int analogValue = analogRead(analogPin);

// if the analog value is high enough, turn on the LED:
  if (analogValue > threshold) //) && ((analogValue < threshold)){
    digitalWrite(ledPinG, HIGH);
  } else {
    digitalWrite(ledPinG, LOW);
  }

//    if ((analogValue > threshold)) && ((analogValue < threshold)) {
//    digitalWrite(ledPinY, HIGH);
//  } else {
//    digitalWrite(ledPinY, LOW);
//  }