Go Down

Topic: Which capacitor with LM317 driving a series of leds? (Read 4331 times) previous topic - next topic

robitabu

I'm driving 6 white led in series with a LM317 used as a current regulator out of a 24V DC power supply. I wonder if I should/could use a capacitor (on the input/output side of the LM317).

I'm open to suggestions since I'm relatively new to this stuff :-)

floresta

I wonder if I should/could use a capacitor (on the input/output side of the LM317)

Only if you want it to work reliably.

Don

CrossRoads

Put a couple of polarized 10uF before & after the LM317, be done with it. Or 3.3uF.  Or 1uF. Whatever you have handy, it will only help.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

robitabu

Ok, this is pretty much what I've already read on the datasheet, fact is I don't want to overengineer it and still I don't want to be too lazy ad miss an important detail.

From the datasheet (and so does CrossRoads suggest too) I read I can put an input capacitor to be used as a bypass and an output capacitor to improve transient response.

Since I still have only a vague idea of what a "bypass capacitor" does and what a "transient response" is, I will start by following CrossRoads' suggestion but will dig deeper into this bypass_capacitor/transient_response stuff ... I really don't like doing things only because I'm told too.

Anyway, my circuit is pretty simple, no need to worry about that too much. It's just my need to understand how it all works. Making up this simple circuits is already a way to deal with more controllable scenarios and give me the opportunity to face basic concepts one at a time.