Go Down

Topic: Circuit Question - Transistor Related (Read 2774 times) previous topic - next topic

Yojimbo55

Hi Everyone

Newbie here, and this is my first post.  I hope this is the correct forum for my question.

I've come across this circuit for controlling an 8x8x8 LED cube from Electronics Demon.  I think I understand the circuit and how it works, but I've noticed there is no resistor on the base of the transistors - I have attached the circuit diagram.

I thought a base resistor is always needed to avoid destroying the transistor, yet Electronics Demon has built this circuit without (apparently) any problems (see his YouTube description here if you wish: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqBGBm2iza8). 

Am I missing something?  Could this be acceptable because the transistors are each ON for only a really short time period?

Any thoughts and suggestions are much appreciated.

Neale

vaj4088

There really should be a resistor at the base of every 2N2222 transistor. This would equalize the currents in the pairs of transistors, and prevent excessive current from a shift register output when the output is high.  It would probably work as shown, especially if shift register outputs do not go high for very long (don't stop the code that drives this) but that is not the way that I was taught to do design.

PaulRB

Dec 20, 2019, 02:24 pm Last Edit: Dec 20, 2019, 04:09 pm by PaulRB

Yes, bad circuit. Not only should have resistor on every npn base. Also the 220R are too low, could force each '595 to source ~110mA when the max is 70mA.

Yojimbo55

Hi

Thanks for your responses.

Based on your feedback, I've done the calculations below.  I've also never done this sort of thing before so if you think I've got something wrong please let me know.

I am going to build this circuit with blue LEDS (if the parts ever arrive - geeze it's taking forever).