Go Down

Topic: Help a brother out, please :)  (Read 630 times) previous topic - next topic

TheApprentice

Hello, I'm currently starting a college project in electronic design and am looking for some guidance on how to achieve my project design.

I'm looking to create a device which can tell me the pin out of my wiring for multiple wires (4 core, 8 core, 10 core, 16 core, 20 core)
I plan to use an arduino mega microcontroller to achieve this.

As an example say I have a 8 core cable with a male connector on one end and a female connector on the other end. I want to be able to determine the pin out of my cable by plugging both ends into my product.

I want it to display something like this...
Male/Female
Pin 1. / Pin 5
Pin 2. / Pin 6
Pin 3. / Pin 7
Pin 4. / Pin 8
Pin 5. / Pin 1
Pin 6. / Pin 2
Pin 7. / Pin 3
Pin 8. / Pin 4

This is my first time using an arduino so I'm not very clued up on how I can achieve this product but any guidance or tips on how I can achieve this would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Paul_KD7HB

Jan 10, 2020, 04:16 pm Last Edit: Jan 11, 2020, 05:45 pm by Paul_KD7HB
Hello, I'm currently starting a college project in electronic design and am looking for some guidance on how to achieve my project design.

I'm looking to create a device which can tell me the pin out of my wiring for multiple wires (4 core, 8 core, 10 core, 16 core, 20 core)
I plan to use an arduino mega microcontroller to achieve this.

As an example say I have a 8 core cable with a male connector on one end and a female connector on the other end. I want to be able to determine the pin out of my cable by plugging both ends into my product.

I want it to display something like this...
Male/Female
Pin 1. / Pin 5
Pin 2. / Pin 6
Pin 3. / Pin 7
Pin 4. / Pin 8
Pin 5. / Pin 1
Pin 6. / Pin 2
Pin 7. / Pin 3
Pin 8. / Pin 4