Go Down

Topic: Working with serial input (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

McQuack

First of all, hello to everyone.

I'm quite new to Arduino. startet with building a Wiicopter based on the Arduino Pro Mini. But now i want to get a bit deeper into Arduino usage. I played around a bit with the code examples and for now i think I understand the most of it.

So my new project should Display the Livedata of my RC-model Datalogger (in the future by wireless transmission).

So here is my question:

i get a Dataaset of 24 Byte on the serial input.  Now I have to divide the dataset into the different information. to start I wanted to store the information in an array of 24 Bytes. So i should get all the information stored in 1 Byte each. But there are also some information sored together in 1 Byte 

here an Example:

Byte 1 : bit 1-4 dataset type ; bit 5-8 datasetnumber

any help is welcome.

thanks
Uwe

AWOL

You can use bit-fields in a structure.
Code: [Select]
struct logData {
  unsigned int dataSetType : 4;
  unsigned int dataSetNumber: 4;
};

gardner

The conventional way to deal with this sort of thing in C is via shifting and masking bits.  Maybe something like this:

// Byte 1 : bit 0-3 dataset type ; bit 4-7 datasetnumber
#define DATASET_TYPE_MASK 0x0f
#define DATASET_NUM_MASK 0xf0

#define DATASET_TYPE_ZEBRA 0x01
#define DATASET_TYPE_PONTOON 0x02

my_code()
{
  uint8_t buf[10];
  int type, num = 5;

// Encode type=pontoon and num
  buf[6] = DATASET_TYPE_PONTOON | ((num << 4) & DATASET_NUM_MASK);

// decode position 9
  type = buf[9] & DATASET_TYPE_MASK;
  num = (buf[9] & DATASET_NUM_MASK) >> 4;
}

McQuack

Thanks for your fast replies,

the first example looks good for me. The second one, I'm sorry, but my Programming skills aren't that advanced at the moment  :smiley-sad-blue:.