Go Down

Topic: Controlling 10 LEDS @ 6volts but with high side switching.. (Read 529 times) previous topic - next topic

DAngel666

Hello community!   I'm a programmer of many years but my experience of electronics is limited and so I'd ask for your guidance as this is my first arduino project :)

What am I trying to do?

- I have 10 LEDS (decking LEDs)
- Each LED is chained to the next by it's negative pole (in other words I have a single wire connecting the whole lot)
- The PSU for this is 6 Volts
- I then have 10 wires feeding to each single light on their positive pole

I have done a lot of reading and realised this is less than ideal - but these lights are embedded in a wall and so, well, I'm a bit stuffed if I don't use high side switching.   I have a breadboard, some resistors, some NPN transistors (which I now realise I can't use after experimentation) and have prototyped some code to show sequencing etc. works (and learn arduino).  I can control 10 outputs fine with my

From what I've read it seems I need a greater level of complexity to switch the lights on positive only - it looks me like two transistors are required per light, resistors to control current.  I've had a crash course in transistors via the web and am quite excited by electronics :D

I have a ARCELI WeMos D1 R2 WiFi ESP8266 board.

Can anyone give me some guidance on the circuit I'm trying to build?   My current thinking is to use PNP transistors in a pair per 'switch' but I'm unsure of resistor values and so forth. 

I have to admit there is a part of me thinking about relays just for the fun noises of them clunking on/off but this feels a bit out of odds with modern times.  I'm totally aware this would of been better with low side switching and an appropriate (super cheap) add on board to do it.

AJLElectronics