Go Down

Topic: Newie-Magnetic field measurements (Read 4060 times) previous topic - next topic

sebas_

Hi there!

I'm a physicist (not experimental though), and I would like to begin constructing a Teslameter. The problem is that I don't know how much precission in the measurments could I get with arduino and the availiable Hall proves I have found on the internet. Furthermore, most of Hall proves work with 12 V voltage supply and I think arduino only provides 5 volts at maximum.

Can anybody tell me how could I construct a precision Teslameter able to measure up to 1Tesla or so? which hall prove should I buy?
Do I need more than one hall effect sensor to make measurements of mili-Tesla?
Can I add a power supply to arduino to work with more voltage?

Thank you in advance!

robtillaart

check - http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/HallEffect - might be interesting ...
Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

Magician

Some of the sensors magneto-resistive.
Look for HMC5843 on SparkFun, data sheet gives info in gauss, sensitive to micro-Tesla.
Or google for more data (sensitivity, range, precision), there are a lot of different species.
Search pattern: "magnetometer" or "magnetoresistive magnetometer"

tkbyd

No... you can't feed your Arduino a higher voltage... but the values from the Hall sensor can be scaled to 0 to 5v with some simple external components, if need be... or just get one which is happy to work on 5v.

Sounds like you want a "proportional" or "analog" (same thing) sensor. There are "digital" ones out there, too.

retrolefty