Go Down

Topic: PWM generation for a very low duty cycle and phase shifting capabiliy on SAMD21 (Read 12327 times) previous topic - next topic

ronin101

Hello forum,
long time reader first writer as they say ;-)

I need to generate a very low duty cycle PWM ( like between 1 and 5 % ) on a Samd21 M0 and be able to phase shift it dynamically

I've tried every type of PWM generation using timer counters. I though the dual-slope critical pulse width modulation was the solution but after tinkering with it I realized that since both CCx control must be on each side of the TOP of the counter, I can't move a very thin voltage peak to the side, it only works with 50% duty cycles.

For example on the figure below, I can't set CC0 to 1 and CC2 to 2 and have a signal peak between le orange 1 and the orange 2, the peak will be between orange 1 and red 2. So I can't shift the signal peak to the left nor the right of the center.

I'm pretty new at direct register manipulation but I have read the PWM part of the Samd21 extensively as well as this forum and I'm now stuck. I've read about circular buffer, dead time and RAMP alternatives but I don't understand those features enough to know if this the right direction.

Any info to put me in the right direction would be appreciated.

MartinL

Hi ronin101,

Unfortunately, there's no straightforward way to achieve this. The solution depends upon your application, but changing the waveform's phase requires changing it's period, using either the SAMD21's period PER or buffered period PERB registers. The buffered PERB register only takes effect on the next timer update, to prevent glitches from appearing on the waveform. Changes to the PER register take effect immediately.