Go Down

Topic: Help with LED lamp project (Read 513 times) previous topic - next topic

racegig

Hello everyone,
I want to add 6 regular RGB Led to a circuit that was powering an RGBW led strip using 3 mosfet (PMW¨) with an Arduino Nano.
I couldn't find any info on this LED strip:
https://globe-electric.com/en/product/globe-electric-wi-fi-5m-16-4-ft-smart-multicolor-changing-rgb-dimmable-led-strip-light-no-hub-required-voice-activated-50053-2/

In the Fritzing drawing below is the circuit that should work (but I'm not shure being a complete Newbie). I left out the white led on the strip (couldn't find the RGBW led drawing in Fritzing) but just suppose it's there :)

Questions:
I connected the 6 Led to the same wires of the Led strip. Is this OK (I want these led to be the same color as the strip).

Are the 220 ohms resistors OK for this circuit?

Is the 100uF Capacitor OK and at the right place in this circuit?

I have a switching 12V (3 amps) power supply to power 2 arduino nano + 15 feet of led strip + 6 regular RGB led. Is that enough ?

I hope all this make sense to you.

Thanks in advance...

vaj4088

racegig

I did insert an image from my Google photos (link) but I guess it didn't work...

larryd

Apr 01, 2020, 06:24 am Last Edit: Apr 01, 2020, 06:42 am by larryd
OP circuit:

If you are using LEDs that do not have current limiting, a series resistor at a minimum, you will damage components.
FYI, (@ 12V you will need ~470 Ω series resistors.)

Use logic level MOSFETs  IRL540 for example.

No technical PMs.
If you are asked a question, please respond with an answer.
If you are asked for more information, please supply it.
If you need clarification, ask for help.

racegig

Wow! thanks for the quick response.

So if I understand, you suggest to:

replace the three IRF540Z with IRL540

and replace the three 220 Ohms resistors with three 470 Ohms...

The circuit you show is using 5V, so I'm a little confused. I'm using 12v to power the Nano and the Led's.