Go Down

Topic: Alarm System & Arduino LTE communicator (Read 11224 times) previous topic - next topic

metallo

Hi guys,

I am totally new to Arduino and how to program it, therefore before I jump into the learning part on how to program, I want to be sure I can achieve the following project.

I am designing an alarm system which will use as a main  central panel a DSC HS2032 card.
The entire system will be wired, including all the sensors.

The main problem I am facing is the communication, in fact, all the communicators for pro-systems are designed to be monitored by a monitoring company.
Well, I want to self-monitor my system in case the alarm is triggered by any of my sensors.

Basically, if one of the wired sensors is triggered, I want to use 4G/LTE cellular communication to send an SMS and/or voice call to my cell number + some additional numbers.
Of course, if my number is busy, it should automatically call the next number and so on.

I can see that cards like the SIM7600CE can do the job, but I need to better understand how the whole process would work.

I mean, the sensors are connected to the central panel, the Arduino shield card has to be connected to the communicator pins of the HS2032 to be powered.

Is it realistic to have the Arduino shield to dial in to my cell, once one of the sensors is triggered?

Has anybody in this forum developed the same type of project?
In the affirmative, which Arduino card would you suggest? Uno? Mega? Any other?

I was also thinking to add video stream, but I know Raspberry would be a better option than Arduino.

I am aware this will require a lot of effort on my end as I am new to programming Arduino, but there is nothing ready made on the market that does what I just described.

Any help/suggestion is very welcome.

Thank you!

Alex

lastchancename

What you want to is completely feasible.
Have a look ar www.sl4p.net, and think about those units.
Come back and ask questions if it will help.