Go Down

Topic: GPS speedometer for motorcycle (Read 10425 times) previous topic - next topic

torvic

Hi all,

I'm a product designer and I'm fairly new to the Arduino and coding environment.

My project is to make a tiny GPS speedometer for a motorcycle.
I use NEO6MV2 GPS module to receive the data, Arduino Uno board (will be replaced by a tinier board if possible) and 7 segment/3 digits as a display.

Here is a very rough first draft of the "final product"(it will be mounted on motorcycle handlebars:

Below is the code I use, which is working (ie: I can retrieve data from the GPS module and display them on the 7 segment display)
Code: [Select]
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <SevSeg.h>
#include <TinyGPS++.h>
static const int RXPin = 4, TXPin = 3;
static const uint32_t GPSBaud = 9600;
SoftwareSerial ss(RXPin, TXPin);
SevSeg sevseg;
TinyGPSPlus gps;
int f=0;

String speedinkmh;

void setup() {
byte numDigits = 3;
  byte digitPins[] = {5, 6, 7};
  byte segmentPins[] = {8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 2};
  bool resistorsOnSegments = false; // 'false' means resistors are on digit pins
  byte hardwareConfig = COMMON_CATHODE; // See README.md for options
  bool updateWithDelays = false; // Default 'false' is Recommended
  bool leadingZeros = false; // Use 'true' if you'd like to keep the leading zeros
  bool disableDecPoint = true; // Use 'true' if your decimal point doesn't exist or isn't connected. Then, you only need to specify 7 segmentPins[]

sevseg.begin(hardwareConfig, numDigits, digitPins, segmentPins, resistorsOnSegments,
  updateWithDelays, leadingZeros, disableDecPoint);

Serial.begin(9600);
ss.begin(GPSBaud);
Serial.println(F("Compteur test"));

}

void loop()
{

while (ss.available() > 0)
gps.encode(ss.read());
if (gps.speed.isValid())
  Serial.println(gps.speed.kmph());
  Serial.println(gps.satellites.value());

f=round(gps.speed.kmph());
 if (f<5)
 f=0;
 else
 f=f;
 sevseg.setBrightness(60);
 sevseg.setNumber(f);
 sevseg.refreshDisplay();