Go Down

Topic: Begginer electronic questio  (Read 326 times) previous topic - next topic

elkayam

Hello everyone, Im very new to electronics and I have a question..

Lets assume that I have arduino with lightbulb connected,
And my goal is to toggle the bulb from afar using my phone, using wifi/bluetooth/radio.

My question is, how long can this arduino run on batteries?
I mean, how does 'passive' listeners work? Do they take power?

For example, cars have a listener that knows when someone  unlocks it with the remote key.. But how? The car is off, and the listener is always on..

If i want to copy the car unlock mechanics when the arduino is the car and my phone is the remote, does it have to always be on? If so, how long will it live on what batteries? Does it take power?

Thanks!

j_molenaar

That depends on how you set up your wiring, what components you want to use. etc etc.
Like a arduino nano BLE that has a low energy state. this kind off set your BLE device in deep sleep. untill it got connected to a device.
and still you have to calculate the drainage of the electrical system to calculate your battery's.

PerryBebbington

For example, cars have a listener that knows when someone  unlocks it with the remote key.. But how? The car is off, and the listener is always on..
Because the 'listener' takes very little power and the battery in a car stores a great deal of energy in comparison to the the requirements of the 'listener', so the battery can power the 'listener' for weeks without significantly discharging the battery.

elkayam

That depends on how you set up your wiring, what components you want to use. etc etc.
Like a arduino nano BLE that has a low energy state. this kind off set your BLE device in deep sleep. untill it got connected to a device.
and still you have to calculate the drainage of the electrical system to calculate your battery's.