Regulating voltage for High Power LEDs with IRF510

Hi all,

I was wondering if i could regulate the Voltage of my LEDs with the mosfet instead of a resistor directly before the LED.
I know it's a basic question but i'm relatively new to the game...which doesn't mean i havent used the search function :slight_smile:

Basically my current setup is this:

I've got a my arduino controlling a HP LED ( 3.5V 350mA )
Main power comes from a 5V source, with a 4.7 Ohm resistor to reduce the Voltage for my LED. The resistor gets kind of hot, since it has to burn 0.5 W.
For a red LED it's even worse, where the resistor burns 1 W.

My question is, is it a good idea to reduce the voltage by not fully opening the MOSFET?

Thanks for any advice.

Trying to drive high power leds (350ma and greater) by using series current limiting resistors is a very inefficient and unstable method. If you look at any of the commercial lamps using leds of this size and higher you will find that they drive the leds with constant current drivers, some of which can be pwm modulated to allow for variable brightness.

Here is an example of a constant current driver suitable for a 350ma LED:

http://cgi.ebay.com/High-Power-1W-LED-Driver-/250855640751?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a68294eaf

Note the 93% efficency rating, that's a lot less wasted energy/heat then using a resistor.
Lefty

I know about LED drivers, but they are quite expensive, i could buy 2 LEDs for the price of one driver...
What happens with the Mosfet when i regulate the voltage through it, is it the same as using a resistor?

I'll repeat:

Trying to drive high power leds (350ma and greater) by using series current limiting resistors is a very inefficient and unstable method.

That includes if you are also using a pwm controlled mosfet. By the way a IRF510 is not a logic level mosfet (it needs +10vdc gate voltage for full on condition) and as such cannot be wired directly to a arduino +5vdc output pin.

Lefty