Protecting from Reverse Polarity

Hey,

i am very new to Arduino and creating my first project.

I am creating a circuit that takes an small analog meters reading (HY gain rotator degrees position) and creates a digital reading and then displaying on an LCD.

im using an ADS1115 to convert the signal. i am measuring the differential between the two sides of the meter.

with a diode installed on the positive for VIN on the nano, i plugged the supply in backwards and blew the meter everything else was fine.

i am wondering how i can protect against this in the future, i tried a bridge rectifier but for some reason loads up the CAP and puts voltage onto the meter and maxes the meter out.

Thanks!

Sorry, your description makes little sense.

What other circuitry is driving the meter, and what are the voltages on the meter terminals?

You MUST obey the restrictions on the ADS1115 inputs, and the ADS1115 itself may have been destroyed by whatever you did.

Why not use a polarized plug ?

meter is rated for 55mV

i have attached schematic

The schematic shows that the meter (assumed to be "I") isn't grounded, so you probably can't use the ADS1115 to measure the voltage across it.

Again, what are the voltages on EACH of the meter terminals, relative to ground?

it is grounded through the pot below it, which is used to calibrate the meter.

the terminals are the same voltage when i measure them relative to ground.
0V to ground at home position
3V to ground at high position

the circuit does function well i just need to protect the meter

What is commonly misunderstood is that the differential input voltages of the ADS1115 must both stay within supply/ground of the ADS.
If any of your 'meter' terminals carries a voltage outside those limits, then things could blow up.
Leo..

It sounds like you may have already destroyed the ADS1115 and/or the Arduino when you blew the meter.