Beginner FPGA tutorials based on the MKR Vidor 4000

Hi!

I am a quite new Arduino maker enthusiast. I have no formal education or background in digital system design, but I work as a software developer and I have a background in audio engineering. I bought the Vidor without really knowing what to do with it, but I was intrigued by possibilities of audio and video DSP usage, along with any possible spinoff that might lead to.

I've been searching these forums and googling around to try to find an exhaustive resources on FPGA programming, VHDL and Verilog and general digital design, since these are completely new concepts to me. There are tons of resources for FPGA programming and digital system design, and of course I need to dive into that as well, I was just wondering wether or not someone know of a beginners approach to FPGA programming, which maybe also explains basic digital system design concepts, based on the Vidor4000.

Please let me know if you can direct me somewhere appropriate.

Welcome! :slight_smile:

I also have a software development background, and started FPGA development as a hobby about a year ago.

If you have not settled on a language, I would personally recommend Verilog or SystemVerilog (newer). The syntax is similar to C, whereas VHDL is similar to Ada.

There are not many resources for the Vidor 4000 as compared to the Terasic DE boards that many universities use to teach FPGA programming. It is best to get a general understanding before worrying too much about the board specifics.

If you are looking for textbooks, here are some my university used:

Let me know if I can be of any help.

Recommend to check sites nandland and fpga4fun

https://www.fpga4fun.com/

There are some free courses form Intel

From there select curriculums: Fundamentals part 1, 2, FPGA Designer, and check interesting areas.

purisame:
Welcome! :slight_smile:

I also have a software development background, and started FPGA development as a hobby about a year ago.