Go Down

Topic: breakout board soldering questions (Read 173 times) previous topic - next topic

bgood1130

May 17, 2020, 03:55 pm Last Edit: May 17, 2020, 03:58 pm by bgood1130
Hello everyone,

I am attempting to solder a msop-10 high voltage digipot to a breakout board. This is my first time trying to solder such a small package.

I am using the smallest tip I have, which is the smallest one in this set: tips, and also using .3mm soldering wire

Here is the datasheet to the digipot: datasheet, page 10 shows the pinout out fhe digipot

I soldered it to the board, and put header pins on it as well. After soldering I inspected the leads with a 4x loupe, and I have very good eyes, and do not believe that any of the leads got bridged with solder.

To verify this I decided to check across leads for conductivity by seeing if an led would light up when run through adjacent leads in my breadboard. The led will light up across leads 3 and 4, 8 and 9, 9 and 10, and obviously 8 and 10.

I am fairly certain of my visual inspection, but the results contradict my inspection.

Another possibility I am wondering about is if I should be getting these results across those pins. For instance, 3 and 4 are vss and digital ground. I wouldnt be too surprised if they were internally joined, but I don't believe that to be the case. 8, 9, and 10 I really do not believe that would be the case, as they are sdo, vdd, and w.

Another thing I wonder about is if I may have overheated the digipot leads and shorted something internally.

I believe I probably bridged a lead somewhere, but wanted to get a second opinion on the other possibilities before going nuts.

If the problem is indeed that I am not good enough to solder such a tiny package, would someone happen to be able to point me to another 8 bit digipot that uses i2c or spi, and is good for atleast +24v and is available in a larger package? I have not been able to find anything in a larger package.