Go Down

Topic: Can an Arduino Analog Pin Read .01 of a Volt? (Read 357 times) previous topic - next topic

ZebH

Hi all,

I am building a voltage divider with R1 = 70 and R2 = 10.
24V = 3V
18V = 2.25V
12V = 1.50V
6V = 0.75V
3V = 0.38V
1V = 0.13V
0.1V = 0.01V

The nice thing about this is you can just times the received value by 8 to get the original value before the voltage was dropped.

What I need to know is, can the Arduino's analog pin read .01 of a volt?

Thanks,

Zeb
One of the most common programming problems is a misplaced/missing bracket.

sterretje

Did you try it? That's the fun of Arduinos, easy to test this type of things.

The ADC has a 10 bit resolution (1024 steps). 5V / 1024 = 0.0049 V per step = 4.9 mV per step.

If you understand an example, use it.
If you don't understand an example, don't use it.

Electronics engineer by trade, software engineer by profession. Trying to get back into electronics after 15 years absence.

ZebH

Jun 09, 2020, 08:50 am Last Edit: Jun 09, 2020, 08:54 am by ZebH
Hi sterretje thanks for your help,

The only way I can think of to test it is to use a potentiometer, but I don't have one yet! But I take it that the Arduino's analog pin can read in increments of 0.0049?

Zeb

ZebH

I also wanted to check that using a voltage divider wasn't going to cause any problems with R1 = 70 and R2 = 10. Should that cause any problems?

MAS3

Hi.

70 what ?

You need to check availability before you're going to plan things like this.
70 is not a standard value for resistors (68 is though).
10 is a standard value, but you need another balance if you are using 68 instead of 70.
12 and 15 are the next values, so using 12 and 68 would get close to what you've been planning.
But you need to check it still does what you've been planning.

Next, way before building, you should do some calculations.
Ohm's law states U= I * R.
U = voltage, I = current, R = resistance.

Highest voltage you mentioned, is 24 volts.