Go Down

Topic: SIMPLE QUESTION: Using shutdown of VL53L1X (Read 302 times) previous topic - next topic

kasperzegel

Hi all,

I have a basic question.
For my setup I use atMega328P, RF transmitter and a VL53L1X.
Since the setup is running on a battery I want to use the less power as possible.

Since the VL53L1X has a shutdown mode(?), which I believe is as a standby mode?
I would really like to use this, but I'm not sure how to connect it right, since it is really hard to test if it is actually working.

Here I have the datasheet https://www.st.com/resource/en/datasheet/vl53l1x.pdf

IF.... there is a better way to use a standby I would be really glad with help, since I'm not very good at programming.
I would think like a way of; if measurement changes more then 100mm then turn standby off for instance

I've added code here.
Code: [Select]
/*
This example shows how to take simple range measurements with the VL53L1X. The
range readings are in units of mm.
*/

#include <Wire.h>
#include <VL53L1X.h>

VL53L1X sensor;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Wire.begin();
  Wire.setClock(400000); // use 400 kHz I2C
  pinMode(LED_BUILTIN,OUTPUT);

sensor.setTimeout(500);
  if (!sensor.init())
  {
    Serial.println("Failed to detect and initialize sensor!");
    while (1);
  }

// Use long distance mode and allow up to 50000 us (50 ms) for a measurement.
  // You can change these settings to adjust the performance of the sensor, but
  // the minimum timing budget is 20 ms for short distance mode and 33 ms for
  // medium and long distance modes. See the VL53L1X datasheet for more
  // information on range and timing limits.
  sensor.setDistanceMode(VL53L1X::Long);
  sensor.setMeasurementTimingBudget(50000);

// Start continuous readings at a rate of one measurement every 50 ms (the
  // inter-measurement period). This period should be at least as long as the
  // timing budget.
  sensor.startContinuous(50);
}

void loop()
{

Serial.print(sensor.read());