Glitch free pulse generator

Hello. I am a rookie to this forum, and I need some advice. I would like to use the arduino uno to create continuous 5ms wide pulses with a period of 10-1000ms, and be able to continuously vary the period without creating digital glitches in the output. I'm thinking it would be best to use one of the hardware timers, since I will need to also have an interrupt service running every 1000ms (approximately) to sample an input waveform for the purpose of controlling the pulse train period mentioned above.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Not enough information.

What are the minimum and maximum allowed increments in the "continuously variable" period?

What are the minimum and maximum allowed increments/values of the pulse width?

How would you define a "glitch"?

What I meant is that the inactive time between 5ms pulses is to be adjusted in order to change the frequency. The inactive time would be 5ms (for a 100 Hz pulse stream) to 1000ms (for a ~1Hz pulse stream). I don't want the re-programming of the 'inactive' time to cause a tiny positive pulse, during the inactive state, or a tiny negative pulse during the active state.

Updates to the inactive state duration (hence the output frequency) would not be more often than 10ms.

The application is not super critical. I'm basically generating an output pulse stream at a rate that is ~20 times faster than an input pulse stream , by measuring the input period and then setting the output frequency appropriately. The input pulse stream is in the .05 to 5Hz range.

Sorry, your response doesn't make much sense, and it doesn't answer the question about increments posted in reply #1.

If the "inactive time" can be divided up into 1 millisecond intervals, a simple loop using delay() and digitalWrite() is all you need. If you need finer increments in the inactive time, use delayMicroseconds() instead.

There is no possibility of a negative pulse being emitted by an Arduino.