Time-out while uploading sketch

Hi everyone,

Got an issue since a few hours with my NodeMCU v0.1 (ESP12E)
Problem started after I have tested the OTA functionality (but I have no idea if it could be related)

So brief history:

• I'm quite new to Arduino and the ESP stuff (2 weeks)
  • So far I have been able to work without issues with the NodeMCU. Uploaded data to a local MQTT, read data from MQTT, OLED, sensors... all well (this just to illustrate that the communication over serial port towards my PC works, or at least worked, flawlessly)
  • This morning I was going to try the OTA functionality, as the idea is that this node will be located somewhere in the garden, and I want to be able to change code without having to leave my desk to go and get the little critter on my desk. Also the idea is that in the end I make my own PCB with a ESP12E directly soldered onto it, so without the USB port whatsoever.
    Anyway:
    OTA worked flawlessly, I also discovered in the same run that you don't need to add your SSID + Pasword in each sketch, but it is stored in some special registers => cool!
    However:
    Since I have activated the OTA, I can no longer upload code over the serial port. The infamous error:
    "Write Timeout
    Doesn't exist or board not connected"
    I did several tests, resets, restarts, Googled ... to no avail.
    Then I did something "stupid" - I guess - I uploaded code over OTA, without the OTA functionality... The idea I had about was: Maybe the chip now only accepts OTA updates as it's configured for OTA, so if I upload a sketch without the OTA, the serial will become back alive.
    Well not exactly... So the upload worked (I just used the blink example) and the onboard led started blinking, however I can still not upload over serial, but off course the OTA option is also ruled out at the same time...

Again I've been looking and searching around for a solution, but no luck so far, hence my post here.

What I already did: