Go Down

Topic: [solved]programming the EESAVE fuse of attiny84 while having arduino as isp (Read 236 times) previous topic - next topic

NetiSasidhar

hello. i wanted to program the EESAVE fuse bit  of the attiny84 . so can i do it using arduino uno as isp?
will it make the chip unreprogrammable ?(just aking)
will i be able to reset the bit using the uno itself (main question#3)? because if something goes wrong...
:(
if eeprom is empty till now i mean i have not used it , not even touched or even read it, will chip erase still reduce the write cycles of eeprom(main question#2)?
will the uno even be able to SET the fuse bit?(main question#1)?  
well i am just a newbie but still i cant bear to  see the eeprom being erased EVERYTIME I UPLOAD A SKETCH   :(  but i wanted to ask someone before i did anything wrong and possibly locked myself out of my attiny.. or permanently damaged it.
thanks! :)
(sorry if i am asking too many questions)

Budvar10

so can i do it using arduino uno as isp?
Yes.
will it make the chip unreprogrammable ?
No.
will i be able to reset the bit using the uno itself (main question#3)? because if something goes wrong...
No. You have to do it over ISP. Nothing wrong will happen. Do not worry. UNO has EESAVE programmed by default.
if eeprom is empty till now i mean i have not used it , not even touched or even read it, will chip erase still reduce the write cycles of eeprom(main question#2)?
Yes. Chip erase do not affect the EEPROM if EESAVE is programmed,
will the uno even be able to SET the fuse bit?(main question#1)?
To itself? No. Like in previous question.

I am bit confused by your questions. Anyhow, you can program ATtiny84 EESAVE without worries. Arduino as ISP is like any other ISP programmer, just slow a bit. You can set/reset EESAVE as you need and also other fuses. Just remember if you set the MCU for external clock use then it must have any, otherwise the MCU will not start until clock signal will be provided.