Go Down

Topic: control the arduino with more level command (Read 3559 times) previous topic - next topic

jodge

hello
i'm newbie here, i will try to controll my arduino and look around and find this:
http://sheepdogguides.com/arduino/art4SeSimpFrmIDE.htm

simple and easy but i have a little problem with this, if i have more level control command this solution not work for me. Ex:

first command should be: 1 or 2

if the command 1:  the second command should be: a,b,c,d
if the command 2:  the second command should be: e,f,g,h

if the second command done the arduino wait the next command and this command again should be 1 or 2 but never a,b,c,d.....

this code-part not work for me, bcose after the second Serial.read() command the program won't exit into the first Serial.read(),  can somebody help me?
Thank you
j.

Code: [Select]
if (Serial.available() > 0) {
// read the incoming byte:
incByte1 = Serial.read();
if (incByte1==114){settings = 1;} 
if (incByte1==119){settings = 2;} 

}
switch (settings) {
  case 1:

incByte2 = Serial.read();
//do something

break;

Old_guy

maybe do a Serial.println(incByte1) after the Serial.read() to see that the value is as expected...

Also, post all the code, what is the type of incByte1?

graynomad

f (incByte1==114){settings = 1;} 
if (incByte1==119){settings = 2;} 

}
switch (settings) {
  case 1:

If that's all you're doing you may as well just switch on incByte, no need to assign a value to it then switch on that value.

switch (incByte1) {
  case 114:
    break;
  case 119:
    break;

______
Rob

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

jodge

uhh thanks for the replies, i make a simple sketch maybe is better like my first post
Pls read the  marked comment
thank you
j.

int settings=0;

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(13,OUTPUT);
pinMode(12,OUTPUT);
Serial.print("Enter s or f on serial terminal ");
Serial.println("to choose red or green led");
Serial.print("enter x or o on serial terminal ");