Project for school help

For a school project I decided to try and find the power efficiency of a stepper motor. I had envisioned setting up a stepper motor to a pulley system and recording the time it took for it to raise a certain mass. I had planned on comparing the potential energy of the now raised mass to the power input of the stepper motor which I would use P = V * I. Although I'm a bit confused about how I would go about finding both V and I. I currently have a Nema 17 Bipolar stepper motor rated at 2.8V and 2.0A which is hooked up to an Arduino motor shield connected to an Arduino Uno Rev3. I saw that someone said that stepper motors draw a constant max current so would that mean that the power input of the stepper motor is always 2.8V * 2.0A? Or does the voltage vary depending on the speed I have the motor rotating? Should I use a different kind of motor? I am very new to this so please excuse me if these are obvious questions. Thanks in advance

Nema17 tells about the dimensions of the mechanical mount of the stepper.
Forget about the 2.8 volt. 2 Amp tells this stepper needs a current controlled stepper driver. A DC motor driver will no do.
Current limiting drivers, as I got it, switches the current on an of during the time the coil is energized. Hook up an oscilloscope and look! It will not be that easy to measure the energy being used. Also note that steppers consume current also at a stand still.

AS Railroader pointed out, the efficiency of a stepper motor being held in position is exactly ZERO. Lots of power applied and no work being done. Holding in place is not work.

Paul

So said the school teacher, standing, having 200 lbs on the shoulder is no work.... but for steppers it is.

Work = force * displacement, no displacement = no work, however the teacher's metabolic processes are functioning, so there IS energy being consumed.