Go Down

Topic: Powering Arduino off 24VAC & Interference (Read 178 times) previous topic - next topic

goettldesign

Let me preface by saying this is my first time working with arduino, and I am a mechanical engineer not EE, so while I have a good understanding of the basics, some of the advanced topics still evade me. 

Short version: I am trying to run a DC stepper motor with an EasyDriver and Arduino off of 24VAC power supply. 

I've attached a schematic (please excuse the drawing if I have used the wrong symbol etc. I tried my best not having made many in the past) but here is the verbal write-up:

There are three enclosures to the system - Enclosure 1 which houses the stepper motor, Enclosure 2 which houses the arduino, EasyDriver, AC-DC Conversion (buck converter, bridge rectifier, capacitor), and two SPDT toggle switches , Enclosure 3 which houses a 24VAC actuator. Enclosure 2 and Enclosure 3 are mounted together

The 24VAC actuator is an off-the shelf product and is just a 24VAC motor, capacitor, two limit switches and DPDT switch. One of the toggle switches in enclosure 2 controls the components in Enclosure 3. In one position, the AC motor spins until it hits a limit switch. Then when the toggle switches to the other position it reverses direction until it hits another limit switch. 

The second SPDT toggle switch controls the stepper motor. In one position, the stepper motor rotates 180 degrees, then in the other position it rotates the other direction 180 degrees. 

24VAC power is converted to DC using a bridge rectifier, capacitor, and a buck converter.