Why are these best practices for using LED strips/rings (WS2812)

Hi,

I'm new to using the Adafruit Neopixel library and I can't seem to wrap my head around a few things that are written as best practices.

• Add 1000 uF CAPACITOR between NeoPixel strip's + and - connections.
  • MINIMIZE WIRING LENGTH between microcontroller board and first pixel.
  • NeoPixel strip's DATA-IN should pass through a 300-500 OHM RESISTOR.
  • AVOID connecting NeoPixels on a LIVE CIRCUIT. If you must, ALWAYS connect GROUND (-) first, then +, then data.
  • When using a 3.3V microcontroller with a 5V-powered NeoPixel strip, a LOGIC-LEVEL CONVERTER on the data line is STRONGLY RECOMMENDED

I'm curious if anyone here knows why these are recommended. I'm also curious if not following these recommendations is the reason why my WS2812 24 bit stopped working all of a sudden. I was connecting it without a resistor or a capacitor to a live circuit (at least I think a live circuit means that my microcontroller is receiving power) with ground, plus and data connecting at the same time (since I haven't soldered it yet).

If my microcontroller is connected to my computer with a USB cord, and my LED's are connected to VIN, GND, and D13, are the LEDs getting the necessary 5V they need to operate, or do I need a logic-level converter?

The best practices can be seen here: Best Practices | Adafruit NeoPixel Überguide | Adafruit Learning System
I was using this WS2812 ring I bought off of eBay before it stopped working: https://ebay.to/3frVS8d

You may have killed only the first pixel. Cut that one away, resolder power, ground and data and connect the strip, as recommended. Use a proper power supply. The Vin pin is not a power output.

groundFungus:
You may have killed only the first pixel. Cut that one away, resolder power, ground and data and connect the strip, as recommended. Use a proper power supply. The Vin pin is not a power output.