Wonder if I should start learning Kicad now

EAGLE used to sell perpetual licenses until version 7. Then it's subscription only but you still can buy different level of subscriptions at different prices, from the $10 per month basic 2-layer 80cm^2 board to full professional version. Now it's just one price, with jumbo'd up suite of Autodesk stuff and the highest level of EAGLE if you wish to use it to make a few bucks. If I started learning PCB design today, I would try Kicad but so many projects and parts since I started using EAGLE, ...

$500 per year just to keep up with latest EAGLE or be stuck with whatever version I have. Even Arduino LLC is pitching in for Kicad's development:

Has anyone doing consulting projects switched to Kicad?

No, I've stuck with my Eagle 7.7 Pro license. I do not envision changing from that.

CrossRoads:
No, I've stuck with my Eagle 7.7 Pro license. I do not envision changing from that.

Better have a spare windows machine.

I got caught with an OS upgrade that no longer supported AutoCAD some 20 years back.

For new project you use Kicad in integrated version.
If you have old eagle project they can't be open with integrated "Kicad" version.

But stand alone version eeschema and pcbnew has capability to transform an eagle file in kicad files.
Once transformed you can import these files into a new kicad project.

The current kicad won’t run on my 10.13 based hackintosh. I am sad.
PCB/Sch programs ought not have such dependencies.
(The future of EAGLE on Mac is also questionable. Sigh. V7 forever!)