Connecting 2-pin button

Hello all, I've seen lots ot tutorials explaining how to connect a button to Arduino and I've even played with some, but they always had 3 or 4 pins. Recently I've aquired these tasters and I don't really know how to connect them properly to Arduino since they've got only 2 pins. Suggestions anyone? Here's the picture:

Connect one side of the button to Gnd and the other side to an Arduino pin. Configure that pin as a digital input with pullup enabled:

pinMode(pinNumber, INPUT);
digitalWrite(pinNumber, HIGH);

then if the button is push-to-make, a digitalRead from that pin will return LOW when the button is pressed, HIGH when it is not pressed. If the pushbutton is press-to-break, this will be reversed.

2 Likes

AWESOME, I don't even need resistors. Thanks a bunch.

PS - I should have said don't use digital pin 0, 1 or 13. Any other pin will do.

Having a similar issue and I am very new to this. I have same type buttons/switches (Normally Open), though I want to connect 4 of these to a Teensy 2.0 board. What kind of connection would I need?

I have read some other postings and they say this:

ButtonA = 1pin to 10ohm resistor to ground + pin on board, 1 pin to 5V
ButtonB = repeat similar
ButtonC= repeat similar
ButtonD= repeat similar

Ideas?

10 "K" (10,000 ohm) resistor and this is OK...

naweston:
Having a similar issue and I am very new to this. I have same type buttons/switches (Normally Open), though I want to connect 4 of these to a Teensy 2.0 board. What kind of connection would I need?

I have read some other postings and they say this:

ButtonB = repeat similar
ButtonC= repeat similar
ButtonD= repeat similar

Ideas?

It's simpler to connect each button between ground and an Arduino pin and enable the internal pullup resistor, as I said before.

dc42:
It's simpler to connect each button between ground and an Arduino pin and enable the internal pullup resistor, as I said before.

So no physical resistor nor a lead to 5V, correct?