Go Down

Topic: Advice for transitioning from Arduino prototype to consumer market design (Read 543 times) previous topic - next topic

bengine45

I would like to preface this thread by stating that I am a complete novice in the domain of production level design and manufacturing. I have not yet before ventured beyond the phase of prototype design in any of my hobbyist endeavors. I am an aerospace research engineer, and my experience with hardware development and circuitry design is limited. I plan to soon attempt to building a production prototype from what I currently have and am looking for advice and insight to help me in getting started.

For the past 15 months I've iteratively worked on a product concept and have finally finished up a nice physical working prototype. I feel that I will soon be ready to evolve my Arduino-based prototype into a production-level prototype that is safety certified and "green lighted" for consumer market entry and retail. My product idea identifies as an in-home appliance (heavy and bulky) and it will be used daily by consumers in either their living rooms, kitchens, bedrooms, etc.

The functionality is rather simplistic: motor actuation via Bluetooth control with LCD displays for various visual feedback indicators. My design includes:
  • 360W power supply
  • Arduino Mega
  • 2.8A NEMA 23 Stepper
  • TB6560 Motor Driver
  • Bluetooth (BT receiver fob with a Nano)
  • 3 LCD displays