Go Down

Topic: Help with varying times on Blink Without Delay (Read 197 times) previous topic - next topic

handymanscotty

Jan 24, 2021, 12:20 am Last Edit: Jan 24, 2021, 12:22 am by handymanscotty
Hi All,

It's my first time posting, but I've been reading the forum for a few weeks.  It's very clear that the quality of advice is dependent on the quality of the information given, so I will try to be thorough and stick to the guidelines.

The Build:

I'm taking Mark Rober's online creative engineering course, and I am on the electrical engineering build. I have to make something "art" related (a piece of art, a machine that makes art, a machine that buys art on ebay, something like that).  I came up with an idea I am calling the HoloGIF.  It is a machine that displays a holographic 2D animation, 5 frames long.  There are 5 acrylic slides, each one positioned above a row of LED's that light in sequence.  Each slide has 1 frame of an animation etched into it that lights up when the LED's below are on. Here is a link to a video of the prototype: https://www.instagram.com/p/CKXTvzkAtBB/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

The Hardware:

I'm running an Elegoo Nano v3, which I think is the equivalent of an Arduino Nano.

Digital Pins 2-6 are each controlling a bank of 8 LED's through a transistor.

The LED's are powered from the 5V pin and each has its own resistor.

A momentary switch is connected to digital pin 12 with a pullup resistor (I did my homework!)

The Code:

Since I want the slides to be interchangeable, and some animations look good at different speeds, and some will be reciprocal (like a bouncing ball) and some cyclical (like a wolf running), I want to be able to click a button to cycle through different light programs.

The Problem: