Go Down

Topic: Programming ATmega32 using Arduino (Read 10650 times) previous topic - next topic

Midhun

Hi everyone.

I'm new to microcontroller programming. I've done some small projects on breadboard using the Arduino UNO. Now I would like to make a permanent circuit on pcb using an ATmega32 or ATmega328. Using the Atmega328 will make the circuit more complex and I will have to include multiplexers for getting more inputs. So I would like to use the ATmega32 with the Arduino IDE. But I'm a little confused about how to program it. I've got the modified hardware files for the ATmega32 and would like to program it using the USBasp. But right now, I don't have an ATmega32 or any of its 40pin variant and I'm not gonna buy one unless I'm sure that I can program it using the Arduino. Now for my question:

Can I program the ATmega32 using USBasp after making necessary changes in #\arduino\core files and also in 'preferences.txt'? Has anyone tried this before?

Another question is about the arduino bootloader.
What does the 'arduino bootloader' actually do? Is it compatible only with the arduino IDE?

I'm new to this forum and I searched for info but I didn't find exactly what I was looking for. Sorry if I'm posting a repeat thread.

Thanks.

CrossRoads

How about one of the '324 variants? Like 644 or 1284? Lots of them have been used. 40 pin DIPs also, I/O may be more suitable to what you're after.

http://www.atmel.com/dyn/resources/prod_documents/8152S.pdf

Might also look at avr-developers.com, see if the Arduino core files have already been created for that part.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

Midhun

Thanks for the info.
I've already got the necessary core files and I would like to know if it is possible to program the 40 pin AVRs using an external programmer like the USBasp with the Arduino IDE.

putyn