Go Down

Topic: Arduino Uno Temperature Sensor (Read 6398 times) previous topic - next topic

jasonski

Nov 15, 2011, 11:04 pm Last Edit: Nov 17, 2011, 01:12 am by jasonski Reason: 1
Hi, I have very little experience in programming. I am attempting to use an Arduino Uno with an LM34 Temperature Sensor to control a solenoid valve. When the sensor reaches a set temperature I want the Arduino to open the valve to release water. So far I have a program that reads temperature (originally created to show the values on an LCD screen). So, all I really need to know is how I can modify this program to read the temperature and open the valve when the temperature reaches a set value. The program I have so far is below, I would really appreciate any help you may offer. Thanks!

Code: [Select]
int pin = 0; // analog pin
int tempc = 0,tempf=0; // temperature variables
int samples[8]; // variables to make a better precision
int maxi = -100,mini = 100; // to start max/min temperature
int i;

void setup()
{
 Serial.begin(9600); // start serial communication
}

void loop()
{

for(i = 0;i< =7;i++){ // gets 8 samples of temperature

samples[i] = ( 5.0 * analogRead(pin) * 100.0) / 1024.0;
 tempc = tempc + samples[i];
 delay(1000);

}

tempc = tempc/8.0; // better precision
tempf = (tempc * 9)/ 5 + 32; // converts to fahrenheit

if(tempc > maxi) {maxi = tempc;} // set max temperature
if(tempc < mini) {mini = tempc;} // set min temperature

Serial.print(tempc,DEC);
Serial.print(" Celsius, ");

Serial.print(tempf,DEC);
Serial.print(" fahrenheit -> ");

Serial.print(maxi,DEC);
Serial.print(" Max, ");
Serial.print(mini,DEC);
Serial.println(" Min");

tempc = 0;

delay(1000); // delay before loop
}

wildbill

At its simplest, all you need to do is to use digitalwrite so you can say somewhere in loop:
Code: [Select]

if(tempc > 25)
  {
  digitalwrite(solenoidpin,HIGH);
  }
else
  {
  digitalwrite(solenoidpin,LOW);
  }