Go Down

Topic: Newbie - Java Question (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

davijeb

Hi,

I'm a Java developer by trade and have recently started looking to program the Arduino board. Have written a small app that connects to the board over the USB port.

One of the examples on the Arduino app itself was the simple blinking LED on pin 13. So I thought that would be a good place to start trying to write in Java.

And that's my question. Is this easy to do? Do I have to worry about setting up some native calls and/or compiling into C/C++ to actually achieve this.

As I said I'm very new to this and thought I'd pose this question to get a few pointers as to how I could achieve this simple test.

Many thanks,

Jez

PeterH

I'm not clear whether you'rehoping to develop a Java application to talk to an Arduino, or write some java that runs on the Arduino.

The Arduino IDE uses a language called Processing, which is essentially a subset of 'C'/C++ with some extra munging to take care of prototype declarations and library dependencies. As you know, C++ is a block structured language with a syntax very similar to Java. The further changes from C++ to Progressive actually make it even more similar to Java. I expect you'll find that after looking at the example sketches you will find the transition very easy.

cmiyc

One of the examples on the Arduino app itself was the simple blinking LED on pin 13. So I thought that would be a good place to start trying to write in Java.

Write what?  The Arduino runs C++ code complied with avr-gcc.  That complied hex is loaded into the ATmega's program memory (aka flash) with a utility called avrdude over a virtual serial port.  The micro is reset and it starts running.

I'm confused how you writing something in java fits in there.
Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

Techone

@davijeb