Serial data rate (bps) and data send rate (ms)

Hey guys.

I'm communicating with my Arduino via Serial, using this program called X-Sim.
I'm sending car gauge data to the arduino and displaying it on 7-segment displays.

Suggestions for bps and data send rate? I can probably use a more optimal bps instead of 9600.
The program/device works upto 256000 I believe.

I want to have the fastest data refresh rate possible on my screens.
I'm thinking a high bps will will have too much overhead, and a low bps will require too fast of a data send rate.

Am I way off here? I've only played with the settings for a few hours. Please school me in serial communication.

Try reading this...

bubulindo:
Try reading this...

Serial.begin() - Arduino Reference

Yeah, that's where I started learning last night.
It doesn't really go into details of what's optimal though.

I'm thinking a high bps will will have too much overhead, and a low bps will require too fast of a data send rate.

Why are you thinking this?

You have a certain amount of data to send. Whether it takes one millisecond or one week, the "overhead" is exactly the same.

The refresh rate of your display will tell you how often you have to have data available, to show the latest data. That time, and the amount of data, will tell you the minimum baud rate required to send the required data in the required time. Any higher rate is good, too.

The drawback to very high speeds is that the time required to read a bit is very, very short. At 300 baud, you have 1/300th of a second with a pin HIGH or LOW to detect that bit. At 115200, you have 1/115200 seconds (about 8 microseconds) of HIGH or LOW.

Since the data is received by a hardware serial port, using interrupts, the speed of the data has little impact on the Arduino application.

PaulS:

Why are you thinking this?

You have a certain amount of data to send. Whether it takes one millisecond or one week, the "overhead" is exactly the same.