Go Down

Topic: shiftOut not very efficient (Read 6058 times) previous topic - next topic

BeBoxer

The shiftOut function isn't much more than a loop around digitalWrite. Looking at the code for digitalWrite it's clear that most of the work done in that function is identical each time it's called from shiftOut. I wrote a new version of shiftOut which essentially inlines the work from digitalWrite, and only performs the needed lookups and safety checks once. This gave me a significant improvement in how fast I could update my LED strings. I'd be happy to contribute my version back to the project but I'm not sure who to send it to. I'm sure it needs another set of eyes on it as well since I'm pretty new to Arduino programming.

Coding Badly

Start by publishing the code here and asking for a review.

Have you searched the forum for other alternatives?

BeBoxer

Thanks for the info. I'll try to get it posted this evening. I didn't look to hard for alternatives to be honest. It wasn't all that hard to write what I did.

BeBoxer

Here's the code below. It's working OK for me shifting data out to a bunch of ws2801's. I haven't tested it any beyond that though. The speedup from avoiding all the extra function calls is significant in my case though.

Code: [Select]

void fastOut(uint8_t dataPin, uint8_t clockPin, uint8_t bitOrder, uint8_t val)
{
  uint8_t i;
  uint8_t oldSREG;
  uint8_t dtimer = digitalPinToTimer(dataPin);
  uint8_t dbit = digitalPinToBitMask(dataPin);
  uint8_t dport = digitalPinToPort(dataPin);
  uint8_t ctimer = digitalPinToTimer(clockPin);
  uint8_t cbit = digitalPinToBitMask(clockPin);
  uint8_t cport = digitalPinToPort(clockPin);
  volatile uint8_t *dout;
  volatile uint8_t *cout;

if (dport == NOT_A_PIN) return;
  if (cport == NOT_A_PIN) return;

// If the pin that support PWM output, we need to turn it off
  // before doing a digital write.
  if (dtimer != NOT_ON_TIMER) turnOffPWM(dtimer);
  if (ctimer != NOT_ON_TIMER) turnOffPWM(ctimer);