Go Down

Topic: Trouble with Shiftout tutorial - Keeping previous LED's lit (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

ScooterinAB

I've been going through the 595 Shift Register tutorial 1.3 (http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShftOut13), and I've hit a wall.

I'm trying to get the previously lit LEDs to stay on (at least until the end of the 16 passes, when it will clear), so that there is a growing row of LEDs instead of just a single lit one. I've gone through every line of code in the example, and cannot find out where it is turning the previous LED's off before turning on the next.

Can anyone help me out? I'm still learning, so I'm having some trouble following the code in the example.

Thanks.

cmiyc

Code: [Select]
   // if this is not the first LED, turn off the previous LED:
   if (thisLed > 0) {
     registerWrite(thisLed - 1, LOW);
   }

Looks like this is the code that turns off the previous LED...
Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

ScooterinAB

When testing it, I completely removed that section, and even rewrote the entire void loop. Oddly, it didn't seem to change anything.

cmiyc

When testing it, I completely removed that section, and even rewrote the entire void loop. Oddly, it didn't seem to change anything.

It helps if you post the code you as you rewrote it.
Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

ScooterinAB

Here's what I'm using. I removed the header comments, because they aren't needed for troubleshooting.

As I mentioned above, I removed the aforementioned section of code during a rewrite. Oddly, it does not seem to have done anything either way. This leads me to suspect that the code that clears the previous LEDs before moving on is somewhere else.

Code: [Select]
//Pins connected to 74HC595
const int dataPin = 4;