Go Down

Topic: 5x5x5 cube, external PSU integration with USB powered Arduino (UNO) (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Rex_247

Hi, I am fairly new to Arduino and after completing a few basic projects I am now looking at the LED cube project highlighted by retrolefty :

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1271300719

Based on the PIC project :

http://picprojects.org.uk/projects/lc/

I understand the process of addressing/lighting the cube. However, I am uncertain on how to safely integrate the external PSU. I will intially be controlling the circuit with a USB powered UNO. I understand the power requirements are too high for the UNO output.

Looking at the schematic, I understand the the UNO will drive the Transistors for the layers and the SIN/CLK/LATCH for the drivers.
Would the external PSU just be connected to the +5V and GND of everything on the right hand side of the schematic (i.e the VDD/GND of driver chips and the +5V of the Transistors)? Does there need to be a common GND between the external PSU and the UNO? If you eliminate the PIC, it looks like 2 of the 10uF and 100nF capacitors need to be used on the VDD of the driver chips, is this correct? Are these connected in series and does the order matter? Is this combination a fairly typical requirement to decouple this type of PSU? Is the TYPE of capacitor (DIELEC.CERAMIC and TANTALUM BEAD) important? or are these just typical forms based on the values required?

I realise there are quite a few questions here, but I am really keen to understand the principals here around external PSU's for future projects.

Lastly, I understand the driver chip is an alternative to using multiple 595's with external resistors (as one example). Is the TLC5940 a suitable replacement for this project?

Many Thanks.

MarkT