Go Down

Topic: Arduino Motor Shield & Servo (Read 7899 times) previous topic - next topic

jeremypettit

Hello all. I'm pretty new to Arduino and have made a few purchases. The question I have pertains to the Arduino Motor Shield rev 3.
http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoMotorShieldR3

What I'm looking to do is control a servo motor, which has a 3 pin female connector. Instead of cutting and splicing, I was wondering if I can use one of the Tinker Kit connections on the board to drive it instead. This would be cleaner, but is it workable?

Chagrin

You do not need the motor shield to drive a servo; servos have their own driver built in.

I don't see any workable way to connect a servo to this shield without cutting/splicing. The three pin connections on the board are in the wrong order.

Take a look at the sweep tutorial to see how to connect a servo to the Arduino.

jeremypettit

Cutting and splicing is what I'll do then. I'm definitely a hack when it comes to the actual hooking up of the hardware. I know enough and too little to be dangeous. I am a strong programmer though. I'm trying to keep it clean and allow for future upgrades. I'd hate for the final end result to be a bunch of wires strung out all over the place.

cyberteque

unless you are going to build a not so big ass servo from, say an electric car antenna, you can't drive a servo with a motor shield.

full stop.

the bridge circuit is what controls the direction in a servo.

zoomkat

Cutting and splicing is what I'll do then.

Not sure that is very smart when you are not sure about what you are doing. You may want to check to see if any of the usual arduino servo control pins are unused by the the motor shield. If so, then use that pin for the servo control.
Google forum search: Use Google Search box in upper right side of this page.
Why I like my 2005 Rio Yellow Honda S2000  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWjMvrkUqX0

jeremypettit