Go Down

Topic: High Power LED Dimming Q's (Read 7430 times) previous topic - next topic

Xplode

Mar 01, 2012, 07:59 am Last Edit: Mar 01, 2012, 08:17 am by Xplode Reason: 1
Ok Disclaimer - Total noob to micro controllers, but i have some basic understanding of electronics theory so I'm not attacking something that is way over my head.  And I have some basic programming knowledge from a while back, plus I've been looking for a project to get me back into it for a while now.

I am aiming to control 60-90 LEDs broken into 3 groups.

Group 1: 20-30x 1W (~3.2v @ 350mA) Cool White LEDs
Group 2: 20-30x 1W (~3.2v @ 350mA) Warm White LEDs
Group 3: 20-30x 3W (~3.6v @ 700mA) Blue LEDs

I have an Arduino Dumilanove that I borrowed from a friend to prototype with, and I've ordered 20 of each LED that I intend to use so I can do some testing.

My goal is to have dimming control from 0-100% for each group using PWM from the Arduino.
I have been looking at constant current drivers on ebay that support PWM (ie http://www.ebay.ca/itm/350539542188?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649) and using a few of them in parallel, perhaps on a 36V power supply.  But reading on here many people are suggesting using a CAT4101 chip for constant current driven PWM LED dimming?  I looked at a spec sheet and it looks like it'll work for me since it peaks at 1A, I'd have to break up the groups into a few strings in each since its < 25V (same as the drivers i've found online @ < 36V ).  Also, it appears to be a SMD chip, and I'm looking to use through-hole components since i don't really have the means to do SMD just yet.