Programming a 328

So I don't want to buy a whole arduino everytime i start a new project because I'm a broke college student (sorry i love supporting you guys but i can't.) I have read about and feel that i could comfortably program an attiny via arduino fairly successfully. Honestly i am chomping at the bit to try it. What i want to know is if i take the atmega328 dip out of the arduino set it up with a regulated voltage and oscillator and most of the other stuff to make it happy. Will it still behave like an arduino? If this would work it seems to me like the best alternative to investing in a PIC or AVR programmer and learning a whole new environment.

So short story i want to put an atmega 328 in the uno, program it, take it out, and build a circuit around it. Would that work or do i need to start looking into a PIC/avr programmer?

That abolutely works! An AVR programmer is not absolutely required, but for $20 or so, is a real handy thing to have (I use this one). You can burn bootloaders with it or program the chip directly with your sketch and skip the bootloader altogether. Another nice thing is an FTDI interface board (I use this one) which allows you to program a chip via a bootloader. Basically the FTDI board moves the USB-to-serial conversion off the microcontroller board. So it and the AVR programmer are one-time costs.

Thank you very much sir! I really appreciate the help.

You're quite welcome, I expanded the post above some, it was probably too terse.

JC,
TylerS was posting "328", which cost $1 or so less, but shouldn't the ICs be the 328P?
Their characteristics are (nearly) identical, but the 328P operates down to 3V while the 328 is pretty much a strictly 5V device.
But more than that, isn't there a "signature" bug-a-boo, where the programmer verifies the device and the responses of the 328P and 328(non-P) are different?

runaway_pancake:
JC,
TylerS was posting "328", which cost $1 or so less, but shouldn't the ICs be the 328P?