0 experience, Arduino Nano and a 4 digit display

Hi,

First of all, since i’m new to this site, nice to meet you all. My name is Daniel, and i’m from the netherlands.
I recently started moving the insides of my Asrock ion 330 media center into a broken Beomaster 5000 amp.
All is good on that part, fits quite well actually. This amp has a very simple display i would like to keep in it, but
obviously also working with the media center (XBMCbuntu) in some sort of way. So i got an Arduino nano to keep
everything as small as possible, but since i have never done this before, i already don’t know how to move forward.
Here are the pictures of what i have

I have searched around for this kind of display, but i can’t find anything. my 0 experience/understanding also doesn’t help things.
So if anyone can help me make this work, it would be very much appreciated.
Also i added a PDF of the technical data of this amp which includes some of the display data on page 19/20.

beomaster5000a.pdf (3.97 MB)

Or should i just start looking for another "similiar" display. any advice is welcome.

Can anybody offer help in any way ? even if it is just pointing me the way to something more simple.

Unless you can find the datasheet for the display and feel confident in your abilities to make it work, I'd look for another display.
Personally I would take something that has available documentation and preferably an existing library.

All i have is that pdf. Problem is, i can't really find one with the right dimensions. it's not gonna fit unless it's a tiny bit smaller, i could make that work i guess. it's about 43x12mm. Could you point me in the direction of one like that on like ebay that
would be "easy" to get working for my needs ?
Thanks for the reply :slight_smile:

Something like this?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-0-36-7-Segment-Red-LED-Display-4-Digit-Common-Anode-/130816038876?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1e753e57dc

No, it's too tall. 14mm won't fit. and 30 mm length is a bit short.