1/72 Millennium Falcon

Hi, just after some advice. I am a scale model builder and am wanting to start my Falcon project, however i want to bring it to life with lights and sounds controlled by a remote. There are a lot of lights required and fibre optics would also be required. Could any of the arduino kits do this and fit inside the model and be hidden. Any help or advice would be gratefully appreciated thanks

Not sure I ever heard the size of the Millennium Falcon mentioned in the films.

So what is the actual size of the 1/72 model ?

srnet:

The Millennium Flacon us 34.37 meters long, so this makes it about .47 meters. This is a little over one foot.

Yep, you should be able to fit stuff in depending on internal clearance.

srnet:

Says it's 19" 1/72 Millennium Falcon

There's plenty of room to hide a Nano or mini in one of those. Doubt you'll need much more than that. Fiber optics would be good if you want to try to light up busy things like cockpits and such.

The clear blue lens for the lights on the engine will be nice to light up with PWM pulsing...
Can you drill through or use some sort of brass tubing to run fiber optics for the guns?

Is there a way to pump smoke out the bottom if you're doing a landed diorama?

For comparison HO Train sets are 1:87... so figures are slightly bigger for 1/72... but pretty compatible. HO gauge train stuff might help.

For sound effects, I recommend a DFplayer mini. And as big a speaker as you can get inside.

Question: do you need to fit batteries inside also, or can you conceal a pair of wires and have an external battery or power supply?

Hey Guys, thank you so much for getting back to me. Your advice is really appreciated.

The falcon will be mounted on an old coffee table and i would like an external and a battery source of power would be good as i would like to show it.

Never thought of smoke but that would be a really cool effect to have, would not have a clue where to start on that though.