10 switch inputs 10 LED outputs HELP!

Hey arduino world I have a project that I would love some help on here is the scenario.

10 contact switches linearly contacts one through ten when contact one is connected i want LED 1 to be on when contact two is connected i want LED 1 + 2 to be on when contact three is connected i want LED 1 + 2 + 3 to be on... and so on till contact switch ten and LED 10

first question is, is there a way to easily connect 10 contact switches to the arduino duemilanove? second questions is, is there a way to easily connect 10 LEDs to the board directly third questions is, i would like it if the time between contact switch one and contact switch ten is less than 100 milliseconds than i want LEDs 1-10 to pulse on and off rapidly for 1 sec. what kind of code would i need to write

Sorry i hope these are not dumb questions i am just new at this and want to work on a great project but i need the basics. any help would be great. either reply on the forum or message me directly any help would be greatly appreciated.

first question is, is there a way to easily connect 10 contact switches to the arduino duemilanove? second questions is, is there a way to easily connect 10 LEDs to the board directly

Well as you have 20 I/O pins I would say yes. But you have no pins left for anything else. Maybe you want to attach the LEDs to two shift registers.

i would like it if the time between contact switch one and contact switch ten is less than 100 milliseconds than i want LEDs 1-10 to pulse on and off rapidly for 1 sec. what kind of code would i need to write

The usual stuff read / write timing sort of code.

What you really want, I think, is a 16-to-4 priority encoder, and a 4-to-16 decoder.

The encoder converts the input into a binary number between 0 and 15. The decoder converts a binary number into one output out of 16 enabled.

The whole thing would take 8 IO lines - 4 for the encoder, 4 for the decoder.