10m 60led ws2812b capacitor?

Hello,
First of all I want to say I am quite new to Arduino and electronics. Therefore your answers may need to be dummy-proof :slight_smile:
I bought this ws2812b 3m light strip with 60leds/m, plus an arduino uno copy. I found out on the internet that these leds draw around 50mA when on full brightness. This added up to a total of around 9 amps, so i bought a dc5v 10a power supply and wired it together. Surprisingly it worked on first try and i used fastled’s code to get them lighting.
Now I want to step up and get a 10m strip to cover my entire room. I read somewhere that you need a capacitor, but some say it isn’t necessary. I didn’t use a capacitor on my first strip either.
Now would you recommend a capacitor, and if, which one?
Also is it correct that if i buy a 60a power supply i can wire the 2 5m strips together and power them from one end? Could i also add the 3m strip to get a total of 13m?
Sorry if any of these questions are obvious, as mentioned above i’m just getting into arduino.
If i need anything else or doing anything wrong, please let me know.
Thanks in advance:-).
William

Actually, full brightness is specified as 55 mA per LED.

The UNO is not the best for projects, a Nano is more practical. They are functionally the same for most purposes, just the form factor. In either case, the limited RAM means you can control up to something like 500 to 600 LEDs with very simple patterns, but much less if hte program is more complex. People have had trouble controlling 300.

So you propose to have 13 m of 60 LEDs per metre, that would be 780 LEDs. That is not going to work! :astonished: Your single 3 m or 5 m will be OK though.

william1305:
Now I want to step up and get a 10m strip to cover my entire room. I read somewhere that you need a capacitor, but some say it isn’t necessary. I didn’t use a capacitor on my first strip either.
Now would you recommend a capacitor, and if, which one?