10x10 led matrix i think?with max7219 - help with led tail lights

so i have been doing some research and thought this might help make sure im on the right track here, so in terms of leds, its basically goin to be a 10x9 led matrix(or so i think), this will be for a 67 el camino and the tail light bezel is broken into three sections, i was planning on having the upper and lower sections of the board handle the task of running lights (50% power) and then when the brakes are depressed they will fully illuminate(100% power), while the middle section will be the turn signal and sequentially light up in arrow shaped led sections. I have max7219 chips that i planned on using. Now i am not sure i can control everything/ or all the leds with just one chip per board so i was planning on breaking the tail lights up into 2 sections, the running/brake lights and then the turn signals on a totally different max7219, granted i am totally new to electronics in this depth and the use of arduino/microcontrollers. x x x x x x x x x -running brakes

x x x x x x x x x -running/brakes

x x x x x x x x x -running/brakes

x x x x x -sequential turn signals arrow shaped.x x x x x x x x x x x starting every other column x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x suppose i could lose this row

x x x x x x x x x -running lights/brakes