11 load cell project

I am an Arduino newbie. We had some help getting going but it was too much for the guy to handle. Now I am trying to pick up the pieces.

Here’s the project.

I need 11 scales connected to an arduino to weigh each load. It needs to then find the smallest combination of scales which is as close to the target weight without going under. Once it has calculated the averages and has the answer, I need LED lights to change from yellow to green to indicate which ones.

Ideally, if any scale has a weight of under a certain tiny amount (.25 ounces or less) that scale will tare again. Possibly the tare could be triggered by a button.

We are using 0.78 Kg Micro Load Cells, HX711 load cell amplifiers, SPLixel Single RGB LEDs and the guy who tried to figure this out was using sippinos to connect them to a prototino.

I have a lot of questions.

1. Is there a better way to connect these to a larger Arduino, skipping the Sippinos. I am wondering if using a larger board like an Arduino Mega 2560 would mean I could connect all 11 to the digital inputs, along with 11 LEDs.

2. I have read through the following thread

and wonder if any Arduino can handle all those readings without slowing down too much. I may just have to connect them all one after the other to find out, but if anyone has tried and has found a limit to the number of load cells, that information could save me a lot of time and money.

1. I am hopefully going to have everything set up to test in the next day or so, and this is the sketch he gave me that works. It only has 5 cells so far, but adding the others should be straightforward. I hope. Any feedback is appreciated.

2. While the 5 cells are reading, only the 1st will tare. Not sure why!

I have attached the sketch we are using so far.

Thanks in advance. I’m new to this but enthusiastic! Please don’t assume I know too much.

loadcell_jul24.ino (2.03 KB)

Have you tried to use a single, common clock line?