12 Volt fuel gauge

Hello everybody!

I am a complete newbie in the arduino scene i do have a question about a 12Volt (35-40 y/o) vdo fuel gauge which i have as a spare.
I want to connect that to my arduino, but it is 12Volt so a direct connection will probably be useless :slight_smile:

I can't tell you more about the gauge itself as it doesn't contain any further information and only has 3 ports a plus and minus and one for a light!

Does anybody have some sort of schematic on how to connect the arduino with a 12Volt gauge? Without harming the arduino or the gauge itself?

regards Bastiaan

See if there's anything in the attached link that helps with this:

http://www.diylife.com/2008/02/02/show-pc-stats-on-analog-gauges/

Thanks i do need to play a bit with it, a direct connection to the arduino without any resistors didn't do much, the pointer moved just slightly above the E(mpty), this means i need to play as in the tutorial mentioned with pull-up resistors untill i have a perfect match. Thats gonne be fun.

Another idea i am playing with is using a TIP122 put the gauge on a 12V adapter and use the TIP122 together with the arduino to control the current given to the gauge! But i need to look into the datasheet of the TIP122 if this one is suitable for the job, don't wanna fry my arduino with 12Volts

Adding an optoisolator between the PWM out and the transistor base might provide some reassurance as you play around with it.

Broos,

There is some conflicting info in this thread.

In your first post you mention that the meter is 12V, but then you talk about the amount of current you put through the meter.

The link N201LJ posted looks to be working with current (rather than voltage) meters.