1284P & 1.6.9 Boards Manager

How do 1284P boards get added in 1.6.9? I'm totally new to that.

Looks like it may be as simple as downloading
Jack Christensen's v1.6.3 branch into the
arduino1.6.9/hardware/folder.

Nice to see a font size adjustment under File:Preferences too.

Took me a while to find this bookmark, hid it on myself:

Looks Bobuino pinout is supported as well for those that have purchased one of my Bobuino boards in it's different form factors (gotta thank LarryD for coining that name!) Some examples:
http://www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17/

or

or

MightyCore looks to make it easier to select the clock speed, brownout level, and board type too.
Haven't done much but get it loaded so far, looking forward to trying 1.6.9 out.

My most recent 1284P sketch using both serial ports to talk to USB and a GSM/GPS module, and SPI to control shift registers (to control transistors) and read temps from MAX31865 RTD chips still compiles ok, so that's a good sign ...

CrossRoads:
My most recent 1284P sketch using both serial ports to talk to USB and a GSM/GPS module, and SPI to control shift registers (to control transistors) and read temps from MAX31865 RTD chips still compiles ok, so that's a good sign ...

Yes, that is a good sign. Thanks for sharing your experience, I am a big fan of the 1284 uC (have a few of your Bob's too) but have been off playing in 32-bit land for a while. Will eventually work my way back to these 8-bit workhorses!

Ray

Stay tuned! Implementation of Majek's modified Optiboot bootloader are in the works! It's still less than 512/1024 bytes, and allow the microcontroller to write to its own flash. Interesting feature, huh? :slight_smile:

Could be. 1284 has tons of room already, never had a space problem.

Anyone seeing a problem with software reset not working in 1.6.9?