12V DC Water Pump to be controlled by Arduino?

So I’m a super newb when it comes to the electronics in general. I’m working on a project though, and I’ve managed to make everything work so far. I just got stuck now that I have to connect my DC pump to my arduino, and control it with the arduino. I’ve been searching the internet, and I’ve seen that everyone seems to be using some sort of relay, which I dont have for the time being. I was wondering if there was a super simple way of connecting the pump to my arduino and controlling it with digitalWrite? I do have a BC547 transistor if it could help, but as I said, I actually have no idea of what I’m doing lol.

Any help is appreciated <3

thanks in advanced

Bc547 might be suitable, depending on the model of pump. If it is very low current, say less than 600mA, then bc547 might be ok. You will need a resistor in series with the base, such as 330R. You will also need a diode to protect the circuit from damage caused by the reverse voltage generated when the pump is switched off, such as 1n4001 or similar.

But only tiny pumps would draw less than 600mA. If the pump needs more current, get a MOSFET with a logic-level gate such as IRL520 or STP16NF06L. You will still need the diode, but the resistor won't strictly be needed.

The pump requires 5W, so that would be around 0,55 Amps, as I have a 9V powersupply. I know it's a 12V pump, but isn't it fine with only 9V, as I don't need the full power of it?

Maybe. But at 9V it may draw more than 0.55A. You will have to measure it.

You may wise to use 2 or 3 bc547 in parallel to boost the current capacity, as the current at startup can be much higher than the normal running current. Each will need is own base resistor. 330R should be ok for 2, but for 3 go with 470R.

Ok, thanks a lot!!

A DC pump has a DC motor. Any DC motor that runs at 0.55A normally will pull many amps at switch-on
which will destroy a BC547.