12v relay playground schematic

Hi,

I'm new to this whole thing here and I'm trying to work my way through the relay schematic in the playground (http://playground.arduino.cc/uploads/Main/relays.pdf)

I'm trying to connect my Arduino to a 12v DC relay.

There's only one part I don't get and it's the rectangle with the oblique line that looks like it's getting bypassed by the 1N4004 diode.

I have looked through picture indexes of common electrical symbols but I can't seem to find this one.

Thanks in advance.

Sorry for the newbie question.

That is the coil of the relay - pass current thru that to create the magnetic field that moves the relay arm to the other pin. An internal spring pulls it back.

OK. Why is the diode bypassing the coil? Is the coil one way as well?

When the coil is energized, a magnetic field is created. Whne the coil is de-energized, the field collapses, creating a current pulse. The diode dissipates that pulse instead of letting it turn into a potentially large voltage spike that could damage the drive transistor.

Ha gotcha. Is that how the Arduino is protected from getting fried? Or is the transistor after the resistor how the board is protected?

The diode keeps anything from getting fried. The transistor provides more drive current and can handle higher voltages than the arduino output transistors can.

Rats - was gonna cheer myself at post 20202, missed it going by!

The Arduino cannot source or sink enough current to drive the relay, so the transistor, in this case, acts as a switch which can control a much larger current than that supplied by the Arduino.

The diode is protecting the transistor.

Ha I see. So the relay needs it's own power source then is what I understand here? I thought the arduino's power was what was feeding it.