12v to arduino pin - zener diode?

Hello, I am a noob with all this and starting on a project and learning at the same time. I dont know all the terms and items I can use but I read a little but I still need to make sure if I understood correctly or I am totally gonna fry my arduino :slight_smile:

So I have an illuminated ON-OFF switch that will turn on a 12V circuit. So the voltage from the switch will be 12V, connected directly to a 12V 1.2ah battery.

I want my arduino to know when the switch is on or off. After reading some, I found that I could possibly use a zener diode.

Would connecting a wire to the on-side of the switch to a 5.1v zener diode (1N5338B??) and to the pin works? Pin would be INPUT_PULLUP?

Will that work or will my arduino explode? :slight_smile: - Or maybe you would have a solution for me...

Sorry for my noobness.. I need to start somewhere

Hi there!

My guess is that some smoke is going to make an appearance, which is not good as smoke is an unwanted guest in most (if not all) electrical applications.

Below is a schematic of how your button/switch can be connected safely.

In addition, I would not set the pin as INPUT_PULLUP. Just regular INPUT is fine.

Good luck!

ButtonZener.PNG

thank you very much
I prefer no smoke :slight_smile:

Make 2 voltage dividers , R4 = 10k, R5 = 2K. Connect them to U6, one to terminal #1 the second one to terminal # 2. Connect to one divider to A0 the second one to A1.
When switch is open there willbe some voltage difference between those dividers, when is closed the difference = 0V

bos1714:

Not so sure a 5.1volt zener is a good protection.
Max pin voltage is not 5volt (for a 5volt Arduino), but VCC + 0.3volt.
That makes the zener useless when the Arduino supply is <= 4.8volt or off.
When the Arduino is off, and that zener circuit is connected to the pin, >= 10mA will flow into the pin through the internal pin protection diodes.